Who deserves to win the Sir Matt Busby 2022/23 Participant of the Yr award at Man Utd?

Adam Marshall

There’s a motive why Marcus Rashford might be a robust favorite to win the award for the primary time: the livewire ahead has loved absolutely his best-ever season since breaking into the United crew.

From the second he scored the eventual winner towards arch-rivals Liverpool in August, he has terrorised defences along with his tempo and direct strategy, whether or not enjoying on the left or down the center.

It might be becoming if he can break the 30-goal barrier (he’s one brief at current) and he has contributed a lot extra, helping his colleagues and usually turning into the principle menace in Erik ten Hag’s facet, trying sharp and centered.

We’ve grown accustomed to seeing his iconic aim celebration and, at key occasions within the marketing campaign, Rashford has come up clutch, similar to within the Nou Camp towards Barcelona, the Carabao Cup remaining at Wembley and notching the sweetest of derby winners towards Manchester Metropolis. He hit an actual purple patch at Outdated Trafford, scoring in 9 consecutive dwelling video games to equal Dennis Viollet’s file, set in 1959.

Marcus is bidding to develop into the primary homegrown recipient of the award since 1997/98, when Ryan Giggs collected the Sir Matt Busby trophy, and solely the fourth since its inception with Mark Hughes and David Beckham additionally among the many victors. It might take a courageous individual to wager towards it taking place.


2021/22: Cristiano Ronaldo
2020/21: Bruno Fernandes
2019/20: Bruno Fernandes
2018/19: Luke Shaw
2017/18: David De Gea

Vote for the 2022/23 award right here now and look out for the end result on Monday 29 Could.